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Vehicle Registration and License Plates: A Brief History 
 

• The idea of requiring vehicle owners to display an individual insignia originated in the 
state of New York in 1901. Owners of 954 vehicles in that state were required to “place 
the separate initials of the owner’s name onto the back thereof in a conspicuous place.” 
Some people even painted their initials and numbers on the body of the vehicle or on the 
headlamps. 

 
• Counties and cities in Texas began registering vehicles as early as 1907. The first Texas 

automobile license plate was issued that summer for a motor bus owned by W.B. 
Chenoweth of Colorado City. 

 
• The early plates were handmade by the vehicle owners or local blacksmith from a 

variety of materials. There were wooden plates (roof shingles were popular), leather 
plates with tin numerals and a more expensive plate with individual porcelain letters 
inserted on a heavy steel frame. 

 
• The Texas State Highway Department (today the Texas Department of Transportation) 

was created in 1917. Included in the legislation was the requirement that motorcycle and 
motor vehicle owners file an application for registration to the newly-created agency.  

 
• The first official Texas license plates, manufactured by the Adams Stamp and Stationery 

Company of St. Louis, were made of sheet iron with white numbers on a dark blue 
background. Twenty railroad cars were required to bring the 300,000 plates to Austin. 
This design with a vertically placed “TEX” abbreviation on the right end of the plate was 
used from 1917 through 1922.  

 
• By the end of 1917, the department had registered 194,720 motor vehicles. 

 
• The county tax assessor-collectors became the official agents for the department in 

1918. The fee, from 1917 until 1923, was 35 cents per horsepower of the vehicle with a 
minimum fee of $7.50 
 

• In 1933, the Texas Legislature passed a law authorizing the Texas Prison System in 
Huntsville to manufacture the state’s license plates. 
 

• Since then the state has issued numerous general-issue license plate designs. 
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• In 1965, the legislature passed the “Prestige License Plate Act” that allowed Texans to 
personalize their license plates for an additional fee.  
 

• License plates were replaced every year until 1975 when the department began issuing 
multi-year plates kept current by annual registration renewal. 
 

• 1977 marks the last year all Texans were required to renew their motor vehicle 
registrations at the same time. For more than half a century Texans renewed their 
vehicle registrations between February 1 and March 31. “The deputies had to protect us 
during the week of March 31 when all registrations were due,” a tax assessor-collector 
recalled. “There were fist fights, even heart attacks, while folks waited in those long 
lines.” 

 
• In 1978, the department introduced staggered registrations, much to the relief of citizens 

and tax assessor-collectors. 
 

• Specialty license plates benefitting colleges and universities and non-profit organizations 
sprung up in the 1990s. 

 
• In 2000, Lubbock County became the first in the state to offer online registration 

renewals. 
 

• The state begins issuing customized windshield stickers for registration in 2004. Each 
sticker is printed with information that identifies it as belonging only to the vehicle for 
which it was issued.  
 

• In 2005, the legislature required the department to begin working on a vendor-operated 
specialty license plate marketing program. Today Texans know that program as My 
Plates. 
 

• The state’s first digital general-issue license plate was issued in 2009. The all-digital 
process eliminated the need for toxic chemicals in the manufacturing process. The 
former stamped plate process required 484 gallons of paint thinner and 396 gallons of 
petroleum-based ink each year, plus huge baking ovens to dry the ink. 

 
• The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (TxDMV) – a new state agency created by the 

81st Legislature - became responsible for vehicle registration and license plates in 2009. 
 

• On July 16, 2012, the TxDMV introduces The Texas Classic, a new black and white 
general-issue plate with an added security feature – two glass-beaded, laser-applied 
threads.  

 
• Texas has 21.9 million registered vehicles, and the majority of them display the general-

issue license plate. The Huntsville prison facility manufactures more than 40,000 Texas 
license plates each week day, using more than 2 million pounds of aluminum every year. 

 


